An Introduction

Who am I? Why am I here? These apparently are the two first questions I should be asking myself as I (finally) dive into this blog.

Why “finally”? Mostly because four months ago I made a bunch of pages describing me and my upcoming Peace Corps (PC) service (see the menu bar for more) but then I procrastinated in actually posting any content. MOVING ON…

The whole point of this blog post is to introduce why Matt in the Maghrib exists in the first place. Yes, it’s a platform to share what goes on in my life as a Youth Development volunteer in Morocco, but more than that, it is my way of meeting PC’s Third Goal.

The Peace Corps Mission

To promote world peace and friendship by fulfilling three goals:

  1. To help the people of interested countries in meeting their need for trained Volunteers.
  2. To help promote a better understanding of Americans on the part of the peoples served.
  3. To help promote a better of understanding of other peoples on the part of Americans. (source)

In an increasingly interconnected, digital world, blogs are the easiest and most efficient ways for Peace Corps Volunteers (PCVs) to share their experiences with people back home in the U.S.

This will be a multimedia blog filled with pictures, videos, text, and audio. It will address food, holidays, sports, daily life, FAQs, differences and similarities of Morocco and the States, et cetera. My ultimate goals with Matt in the Maghrib are to:

  1. Inform (LEARNING is fun),
  2. Entertain (learning is FUN), and
  3. Reflect

Over the course of my 27 months in PC, I expect my preconceived notions will be challenged and my ignorance broken. Likewise, I hope my blog can provide a perspective to Islam and Arabic culture that you may not have heard/seen/read before. Let’s go on this journey together, okay?

Not all those who wander are lost.
– J. R. R. Tolkien

Adventure is out there!
– Pixar’s Up

Traveling leaves you speechless, then turns you into a storyteller.
– Ibn Battuta

Author: Matt Rogers

Traveler, musician, documentary filmmaker, trying to do some good. ~Insta/Twitter/Vimeo: mattmigration~

1 thought on “An Introduction”

Leave a Reply

