Scary Stuff

Halloween 2016: the day I learned where I will serve for two years. Scary stuff.

On November 1st all trainees in my staj dispersed across Morocco to visit our sites. I won’t post the name of my site here for security purposes.

20161103_124919-01
My site is a mid-size town of 18,000 people in mideastern Morocco, only around 50 miles from the Algerian border. The closest big city is Errachidia.
20161102_111950-01
I will work both in the town and outside of it in a few duwars – such as the one pictured – which are sparse neighborhoods along a main road.
20161102_111530-01
I first will live in this house in a duwar on the border of the town oasis and the desert mountains. The second story is currently under construction.
20161102_121211-02
My host family is very patient and welcoming and great at cooking. I have parents, three sisters, and a little brother, plus two other brothers and another sister who live elsewhere.

I’m already in love with my site. I can’t wait to swear in as a volunteer and return here in December!

Author: Matt Rogers

Traveler, musician, documentary filmmaker, trying to do some good. ~Insta/Twitter/Vimeo: mattmigration~

Leave a Reply

